2013: New Year, New Blog, New Goals, Old Ideas

IMG_2447

Jades Story #1:

I am not new to WordPress, however I have decided to stop paying for blogging space when I can use the same service for free.  Being a rather hasty individual I did not back up my previous blog before cancelling my hosting service hence the reason that I am starting over again.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, though.  Since it is the start of a new year, let’s say it is a tabula rasa.

In previous blogs I wrote about whatever was on my mind.  I’m sure that will happen here from time to time, but since one of my goals is to write a story that is not a Harry Potter fan fiction, my goal is to blog about that experience.  Given past attempts at writing a themed blog I don’t know how well this will work, but one must never quit quitting, as the saying goes.

I don’t want to reveal too much about the story that I am writing, mainly because I haven’t settled on too many details yet.  We’ll say only this: it is a supernatural ghost story, tentatively titled Jade’s story.  The idea was born of an English assignment where we were asked to write a short story in the style of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter.  I no longer have said story, but I do remember enjoying the experience of writing, and since then an idea has festered in the back of my mind.  Will it be a disaster?  I certainly hope not, but won’t know until I get to writing.

Here goes nothing.

Leave a Reply

