Omni: All You Need Is Love

All posts related to this fan fiction:

June 11, 2007

All You Need Is Love

I am so pumped this afternoon. Feeling rather ill I didn’t go into work today. However, I have to say that I got a nice shot of adrenaline or something when I went to see if there were any reviews for my Harry Potter fan fiction.

I’ve been writing stories for years. My problem has never been starting a story, it has been finishing it. Then again, I usually lack plot. Anyways, so I stumbled upon this Harry/Ginny fan fiction site and started to devour stories on there. After reading two or three I thought that I could probably do this. That was back in February. So I spent a while coming up with a plot and then started writing. I wrote the first two chapters, the second giving me Excedrin headaches. Then I started work so didn’t have time to write. With the fast approaching release date for Deathly Hallows I figured I should finish this.

Thus about a month ago I started writing again. Strangely the words seemed to flow like water, well for the fist couple of chapters again. I now have an inkling of what Jo Rowling said about characters taking on a life of their own. My outline for the story was originally about twenty-five chapters, but certain things snuck their way into the end of the third chapter, adding three chapters that weren’t even in the outline.

Be that as it may, when I was telling my mom and step dad about this they both said they wanted to read it. Now I normally don’t like people reading my work, because I’m notoriously insecure. But I was so proud of the first chapter that I relented. My mom read the first eight chapters in one day and said that she was on the edge of her seat. I enjoyed the praise, but forgive me for not being all that excited about submitting to a fan site. Mothers tend to be a little biased so I hear.

Well, making this a little shorter, I bit the bullet, took the plunge (insert cliche here) and submitted it.

Today, seeing as I was home I figured I would go and check my story. I had a note from the administrator about some edits that I should do, stupid me, who needs punctuation anyway. What got me pumped was the fact that they said they were enjoying the story. This from one of the admins on the site who probably reads a ton of submissions. Then I found the reviews done for the first couple of chapters. There was only one review, but it was so great. I couldn’t believe it.

Talk about bolstering my confidence. All You Need Is Love is the title of my story by the way, but I just realized how fitting it is for writing too.

This was about three hundred words longer than I wanted it to be.

Back to writing I go,

Sabrina

P.S. My story, if you’d like to take a gander at it, is available at
http://www.siye.co.uk/siye/viewuser.php?uid=8141

2:31 PM

June 22, 2007

Still On About That

I have been diligently writing for about six weeks now, and am at about 90,000 words. Can you believe that? I can and can’t at the same time. I have given up any semblance of a life for these weeks because I have set the nearly impossible goal of finishing this story by July 20.

The really strange thing is, I might actually achieve that goal. Never one for finishing things, I am amazed at my determination. Now, perhaps it has something to do with the fact that its Harry Potter, a universe in which it is hard to do things wrong. Maybe because I actually had the balls to post online and am getting great feedback, I dunno.

In any case I am getting to some of the really good chapters now. It’s getting to where I don’t want to do anything but write. Kind of affecting work . . . but oh well, who cares. LOL

Off to write chapter seventeen . . . Voldemort and Harry battle – well . . . I don’t quite know for sure, I’m going to let my fingers do the walking, so to speak.

Ciao

Sabrina.

8:17 PM

June 22, 2007

Arrogance Is What Does Ya In Every time.

My meaning will be plain if you read chapter seventeen of my story. But what I am basically saying is that the whole problem with Voldemort not getting Harry is his arrogance. If he would just shoot the killing curse without first giving a soliloquy, the kid would probably be dead already.

Needless to say, chapter seventeen is up and viewable.

Ciao

Bri.

 

June 22, 2007

And The Sleepless Ramble On

I think there are far too many blogs out there myself. And yet I feel the need to add to them. Haha. I am just getting my own site up and running. Perhaps one day it will be a site where I can post my own stories. I am certainly going to put my Harry Potter fan fiction up there.

You know it’s very funny the associations we make in our minds. I was thinking the other day that before this fan fiction I have never written one before. But I remembered that’s not exactly true. When I was in grade four I started writing a Nancy Drew story. I never did finish that one because I took it to school and let my teacher read it. He marked it all up with corrections. After that I never saw the need to finish it.

But so is me. I can start tons of things, my problem isn’t starting it’s finishing. That’s why I am so impressed with this Harry Potter story. I’m actually about half to two thirds finished the story, and I am plugging away because I need to finish it. There are a few chapters, probably four or five away from where I am now, that I’ve been wanting to write ever since I can up with this plot and outline four months ago.

I think I’ve rambled enough today.

Ciao,
Bri.

4:10 AM

 

June 24, 2007

Foreshadowing Alert: How Easy (if not subtle) is this?

Happy Sunday Everyone,

I was having a conversation about my story yesterday and it got me to thinking about foreshadowing, and hiding clues in stories. This is something that JK Rowling is particularly good at doing. Now don’t go thinking that I am comparing myself to her, because I am not, but I can understand a little how she can do it.

When you know the ending to these stories its quite easy to slip in a little word here, or bit of dialogue there that foreshadows what’s to come. I don’t think I can do it quite as subtly as the great Rowling. But it’s all good. And we have to start somewhere, right?

So I am plugging away – just finished chapter eighteen this morning, but I think it’s going to need some heavy editing before I can dare to let anyone read it. Needs to be a bit more poignant I think.

Ciao

Sabrina

June 26, 2007

Constant, Never Ceasing – Chapter Title Search

You know it’s really funny. When you start writing you get these great plans in your head (or down on paper) and you start writing. You might think, OK well I don’t quite have that part worked out, but I’ll get to that later. Sometimes it’s hard to start writing, sometimes you can start and don’t want to stop cause you’ve got your muse. Some times you stumble on a word or a phrase, sometimes it’s an entire plot line.

These things are frustrating or awe-inspiring to say the least. Never would anyone think that the road block is coming up with a title for the chapter. Sometimes you have it right the first time, others you go through more drafts in chapter titles than content drafts of the chapter.

Take for example my story – you know the one I never, ever mention. The first chapter I had a title for it in my outline. I changed it for the first forty drafts, and then when I was going back to check the outline I saw that title and went “Oh My God, what was I thinking not using that from the first?” Then there are other times, like with my chapter Eighteen, I had a working title. Then I changed it. The title I had was good, but it was so good that I needed to reserve it for the last chapter. I went through at least four drafts of the damned title. It was pathetic.

I’m starting to get nervous now that I might not be able to finish this story before the release of Deathly Hallows. I still have eleven chapters to write and only have twenty four days. That’s a chapter every two days – eeks. Well the weekend’s coming up soon – so I’ll have to put the fingers to the keyboard and get my butt in gear.

HINT: for those reading the story (mom and norm and maybe a few other family members right now I think) in chapter eighteen they find another Horcrux – but they pay a heavy price for it.

I must go now – its getting late. In the words of Porky Pig (?) “Th – Th – That’s All Folks!”

Ciao – Sabrina

June 29, 2007

All Good Things Come To An End

I have been writing for years. Ever since first grade when I wrote that story about why the road twists and turns (stupid animals won’t get out of the way), I’ve loved to write. My greatest downfall, well my two greatest downfalls, are that I suck at grammar, and that I tend not to finish things. I have a plethora of stories that I have started, or rewritten the beginning to, but have never finished.

I suppose another problem is the fact that I typically didn’t have a plot. Well, I would have a plot in my mind I think. . . but I wouldn’t have a clearly defined road map of where the story was going. With my latest work in progress, this Harry Potter fan fiction, I spent four days just coming up with the plot. OK, I know that’s not really a lot of time, but I had a whole bunch of theories beforehand, so it wasn’t that hard. The outline is somewhere in the neighborhood of forty pages in and of itself.

I haven’t been completely faithful to the outline, because there was one whole thread that ended up in the story that I hadn’t intended, but it fit so well that I needed to add it. In any case, I started writing in February, thinking that since I wasn’t working at the time I could get as much done as possible, and that would be more than enough time to get this thing finished before the release of Deathly Hallows (which by the way will be released in 21 days, 20 hours , 2 minutes) . Unfortunately I struggled with the second and third chapters, and put them aside for something near eight weeks. I started writing again at the very end or April or beginning of May.

I’ve been writing faithfully ever since then. I have just finished writing chapter nineteen a few hours ago. I think I hate that chapter, truth be told. LOL. It took me days upon days to write, and I still don’t think I was able to convey the emotion like I wanted to. Be that as it may, I’ve started writing chapter twenty now. And as I was writing this – (they’re simultaneously trying to destroy the second Horcrux and search for the third) I realized that I am very near finished. Chapter twenty in my story was chapter seventeen in my outline (which was twenty five chapters total).

I think not chapter twenty one – but twenty two and twenty-three are the ones I am looking forward to writing the most – but those are almost the last chapters. And starting to write chapter twenty I really felt that this story is starting to come to a climax. Oh man, you have no idea what this feels like. I have been working my ass off on this thing for the last two months. I think that I have just a small inkling of what it must have felt like for J.K. Rowling to finish writing Deathly Hallows after working on Harry Potter for sixteen or seventeen years.

Well, back to writing I go

Ciao – Sabrina

04:05 AM

July 5, 2007

I Work Best Under Pressure

And I’m not just saying that. It’s completely true. Well, Ok I admit I probably don’t work best – but certainly work hardest when faced with a deadline.

I’m speaking, in this case, about the story that I am writing. I have a self-imposed deadline to have this thing finished in sixteen (EEEEEEEEEKKKKK) days. That is, to have it finished for the day that Deathly Hallows comes out. I was telling myself that back in February when writing the outline it seemed like eons. When I started writing again in May after taking a two month break, I though no sweat. Now, after taking a week that I didn’t have to write chapter twenty, and still not even at the parts I most want to write, I am starting to feel the pressure.

I think that part of my problem in this latter case, taking a long time to write this chapter was the fact that the last two Horcruxes I didn’t have clear indications on how to find and destroy them. It took me about two weeks just recently to even figure out what that unknown one was going to be. And of course I came up with a plausible (at least I think) explanation today – fifteen minutes before I had to leave for work. So I was scribbling this idea down at top speed. See – further proof that I work best under pressure.

I am happy to report that I have finished writing that damned chapter that called itself number twenty. I have a fairly clear idea of chapter twenty-one – just have to figure out how to dispose of that last Horcrux, and then it’s on to the good stuff – lol. I mean the Horcruxes are good and everything, but they’re more a means to an ends in my story. I am banking on them being much more important and interestingly written in JKR’s book.

Off to sleep I go – I know, what’s this, it’s not even two am and I’m going to sleep? That’s odd.

haha

ciao – Sabrina

01:43

July 7, 2007

What The . . . Huh?

So i posted chapter twenty of All you need is love on SIYE last night. This morning I went to check out the three reviews that I got. There was one there that I really have to scratch my head at. It was, and I quote:

“it’s good but the story was lame.”

WTF? I’m not disagreeing with the person – well I guess I can’t because I don’t know what they’re saying at all.

I can understand that there are going to be people that aren’t going to like the story, and for the most part I’m fine with that. And I do have to admit that all of the other reviews have been praising me (HEE HEE) even if there were elements of the story that they did not like.

My only qualm with this is -Person exactly what were you trying to say? It’s a complete contradiction the way it stands now. Were they trying to say that the chapter was good but the story overall was not? Were they trying to say that the title sucked? I don’t know. Your guess is as good as mine. lol.

Well I’m off to panic about my lack of progress on the story and the very short time that I have left to write six chapters. OY. So back to the grindstone I go.

Ciao

Sabrina

23:19

July 19, 2007

Writing, Why Do I Bother?

Talk about insecurities. I love to write, don’t get me wrong. But listening to other people talk to certain writers that are also dabbling in the genre of fan fiction makes me wonder what the hell I’m doing in it. Why do I bother? When I read some of their work and compare it with mine I think – how can I even think that what I’m writing isn’t repugnant?

I seriously wonder how much of this isn’t just a touch of depression, or exhaustion from trying to finish this damned story in so short a space of time. I’m still enjoying writing it – again don’t get me wrong. But I think at this point because i’ve set this almost unobtainable date to get this thing done (two days and three chapters now) it’s become more of a chore than a pleasure.

Add to this the fact that I’m writing one of the climactic chapters – and i don’t think I’m all that good at writing huge battle type scenes and there’s a recipe for disaster. I know now that I’m going to have to go back and revise this story from page one. I’m not going to rewrite – but there are several repeat things that I would like to change but don’t have time.

I don’t think I could stand a page one rewrite – but that’s probably what I need.

I don’t know really. I keep trying to compare myself to published writers, many of whom have degrees in English, and have been writing for decades, whereas I’ve been writing on and off since grade school, but since I have problems with finishing things that doesn’t really help my skill.

Well back to writing the rubbish that is my Harry Potter Fan Fiction.

Ciao

Sabrina 12:40

August 2, 2007

MIght I Actually Finish Something

I am so excited, you have no idea. Me, who never finishes anything was labouring under the delusion that I probably would never finish my Harry Potter fan fiction. Well, to be fair, I once hoped to have it finished before the release of Deathly Hallows. However, that did not come to pass, work kind of got in the way.

After the release of book seven, I finished chapter twenty five, but then couldn’t seem to work my way from the start of chapter twenty six to the end of it. There was a part in the middle, I think it’s called . . . er . . . the middle, yeah that’s it. That was causing me grief. I must have rewritten that chapter a dozen times, especially the first third of it. I suppose I am very Tolkien in that way (not that I think I’m as good a writer as he by any stretch of the imagination) in terms of needing to rewrite things.

But yes, the penultimate chapter is up on my site and soon on Sink in Your Eyes as well, out there for the world to see and critique. It’s a scary prospect, but one that’s strangely fulfilling too.

Here’s hoping it doesn’t take me another two weeks to write chapter twenty seven (the final one, my god!).

Sabrina

03:54

August 6, 2007

The Passage Of Time

I think that the world stopped turning today.

Why do I say that, you may ask?

I finished writing my Harry Potter Fan fiction. Finished it. Finished writing, finished editing, posted it on this site and Sink in your eyes. The last chapter is entitled The Passage of Time, in case you want to know the meaning of my blog post.

My thoughts on finishing it – when I typed out those last five words that explained the title for my story . . . I can’t even describe how exciting that was for me. Granted, these weren’t my characters, the world wasn’t my invention, and I didn’t come up with every idea solely on my own, but I have to say I have a small, minuscule understanding of what JKR must have felt when she finished writing Deathly Hallows.

It’s an incredible feeling, I must say. I haven’t finished writing a story since I was a pre-teen, and then the stories were so ridiculous that I can’t even regurgitate them here. The one that I remember most clearly that was really bad, was one in which I incorporated New Kids On The Block (hey I was a child of the eighties, what do you expect) and MC Hammer into them. It was quite bizarre, took stupid turns, and had nothing even remotely resembling a plot. I think the mafia somehow got involved there – and there were many, MANY, phone conversations.

Ha – the other story I remember writing in my youth was a joint effort with a friend of mine. We had vivid, and sometimes warped imaginations, and came up with a story where we were killing off all of our classmates from that year. LOL – oh my god – I still have that story and reread it recently. There was nothing in there even remotely resembling proper emotions one would have when there’s a psychotic killer running around on the loose.

I think the premise of the ‘psycho killer story’ as it has been so dubbed, is a good one and I will write it properly one day. However, I have another idea that’s been swirling around inside my head for about five or six years, I can’t even remember when these two characters came into being. . .

Thus, I am off to spend umpteen hours fleshing out my characters, and writing up something that might be a completed story one day.

Sabrina

23:40

Leave a Reply

