Omni: The Cursed Tattoo

February 21, 2008

Demons & Shadows

I’m in the midst of writing The Peverell Prophecy so the last thing I needed was to get another muse for another story, another Harry Potter story of all things. But I did and now I’m in the process of writing a story tentatively called Demons and Shadows, it is a sequel to All You Need Is Love which I wrote last year.

February 27, 2008

The Cursed Tattoo: A Harry Potter Fan Fiction

I have received another muse and am now developing a Third Harry Potter Fan Fiction. It is tentatively titled Demons and Shadows and is a sequel to All You Need Is Love. I don’t know how long it’s going to take me to update given I am starting back to school in mere days. But that’s me: a full time job, full time school, and two stories on the go. Yes, it is always feast or famine with me.

April 21, 2008

Update 1

Things are progressing, but slowly.  I am currently writing chapter three.  I’m a good way through the chapter, after losing count of how many times I’ve rewritten it.  Relationship stuff is always the hardest.  Trying to make it realistic, and not cheesy . . . ah, well I don’t know if I managed it, but I guess we’ll see.  I’m hoping to have the chapter done today, because things actually start to happen after this.

June 8, 2008

Update 2

I don’t know what it is about this story but it seems to be taking me an extreme amount of time to write each chapter.  I don’t think it’s because I’m being extra cautious.  My lack of time has a lot to do with it, but even so . . . whatever the case I’ve just started working on chapter five and can’t wait to get it done.  This is where things really start to develop which are going to be knitted together in due course.  When I was recently rereading my outline I was excited about writing this story.  If I can pull it off, it’s going to be my best yet (if I do say so myself.)

July 1, 2008

Update 3

I have just posted chapter five and I have to say I am rather pleased with it.  It is not in its most polished form yet, but even so . . . sooo much foreshadowing its actually scary.  Some of it might seem obvious, some of it might be completely out of let field.  I really want to get started on chapter six straight away, but I have all this schoolwork.  Damn!!

August 30, 2008

Update 4

Today is a red letter day in the writing of The Cursed Tattoo.

First of all let me take a step back and make an announcement that you may not have heard before.  I have decided to make a change in the title of my latest Harry Potter Fan Fiction.  It was previously known as Demons & Shadows but I have decided to change it to the second title that I had – which was The Cursed Tattoo.

Now that’s out of the way let’s get to the subject matter at hand.  Chapter Six: Arthur’s Advice, I can say without at doubt, is the chapter that is has taken me the longest to write – ever.  Seven weeks – and that was just the first draft.  I still have to type the chapter and edit it.  But I am proud to say that it is actually done and I am hoping to have it posted later today.

I am going to boast here for a minute people and tell you that the last section of the chapter is probably the best I’ve written thus far.  I love the little intimate moments between Harry and Ginny at the end.  And there was a little snippet that I hadn’t really intended to include but it makes perfect sense.

I will update this blog post when the chapter is up for viewing on my site.  Thanks for your patience folks.

September 10, 2008

 Update 5

Oh My Goodness.  It’s been all about the length lately.  And no I don’t mean that length.  Sheesh, get your mind out of the gutter.

No the length I am talking about is time.  It seems to be speeding past at the velocity of lightening and there’s nothing I can do to slow it down.  It’s already September 10.  That means several things.  Unless I can start to write ridiculously fast I have no chance in hell of ever getting the Demons & Shadows Trilogy done before the end of the year.  Hell, I’l be lucky if I get The Cursed Tattoo finished before the bell tolls midnight on December 31, 2008.

I probably could have been finished that story already and partway through part three if I hadn’t taken those courses earlier in the year.  If I hadn’t taken six or seven weeks to write chapter six that would have been an advantage too.  But I cannot chance those things I can just plough on.  And though I did write chapter seven relatively fast it took a very, very long time to type it.  I do have to admit though  – reading it back I’m rather fond of this chapter.  I still don’t like the Harry Ginny fight in Chapter Six – but then I’m a lover not a fighter.  haha.

Speaking of length.  These chapters are getting out of control.  Between the last two chapters I think I’ve written somewhere in the neighbourhood of 23,000 words.  That’s more than 10% of the entire total of All You Need Is Love.  Wow.  Granted they have to be edited still, but one astounding thing was their length.  More of the time my chapters, even unedited aren’t longer than 55 minutes and that is long.  Each of these chapters was at the ninety minute mark.  I could not believe it with the first one but when the second one was the same length I couldn’t do anything but laugh.

I think that when these two chapters are released in the podcast somewhere around episodes 32 and 33 they alone are going to contribute to a nearly two hour show.  WOW.

So I write today to tell you that my overly long chapter seven is completed and finally posted.

October 6, 2008

Update 6: The Return of the Dark Mark

Holy Hell!

Now there’s an Oxy Moron if I’ve ever heard one.

Anyways . . . HI!  Welcome to the luckiest update on the Cursed Tattoo ever.  Well, not really, but I had to say it.

The expletive at the beginning of the post has to do with the fact that its been nearly a month since I’ve updated.  I swear to you people it did not seem like it was that long at all.  I think I had chapter eight finished within a week or two of that post but it took me forever to type and edit it.  Well, actually the typing didn’t take that long but the editing sure did.   I kept putting it off and putting it off until finally I said to myself I need to get that out to the people so the lambasting can begin.

I’m just kidding.  Most of the feedback I’ve received has been positive – perhaps a little too much so.  Maybe I need to find some more critical people.  Hmmm . . . that warrants thinking.

I actually have more to say on this chapter than just announcing its out.  I know, that’s a shocker isn’t it?

Anyone who has listened to BriCast (my not so consistently released Podcast) will probably know how much I looked forward to writing the Voldemort’s Little Game chapter from All You Need Is Love.  I really want to go back and rewrite that chapter because it was nowhere near as good as I wanted it to be.  But that’s not the point.  The point is this:  I was really looking forward to writing the end of chapter eight because the biggest piece of the whole story gets put into play.  I’ll not tell you what that is but there might be a hint or two somewhere near the beginning of this post.

I also like the beginning of the chapter because it is the first time that we really get to see Ginny having a life away from Harry.  True, the scene still involves him, but . . . that was really fun to write.  I think its important for her later development.  I’ve said elsewhere that she doesn’t have much of a life outside of her Quidditch and Harry and that’s quite true.  I don’t think that’s healthy and she’s just asking for trouble . . .

On that note, I’m ending this communique.

October 28, 2008

Update 7

Well it is safe to say that I am not going to achieve my goal of having chapters 8, 9, 10 and 11 finished and published by the end of October.  There are three days left so its possible that I could have the last two chapters completed but I think that would only happen if there was some sort of miracle.  I’ll be lucky if I can get more than a quarter of chapter ten written.  I love it though.  I’m writing away and things are starting to come together.  That is, things are being included that are going to come into great importance in about ten chapters.  Yay.  Like I’ve said before its always nice to know that the things that one plans seven and eight months before are actually sticking together.

Chapter Nine: The Dead Depressing Chapter (aka The Bleeding Of Old Wounds) can be read here.

Enjoy and feedback is always welcome.  You can comment on this blog or use the Email button at the bottom of the Chapter page.

Happy Halloween.

November 24, 2008

Update 8

If I keep on this track its going to take me about two years to write this story.  I’ve only been releasing about one chapter per month lately, and some even less than that.  I do plan on starting chapter 11 as soon as I finish this post and I’m going to work on it over the next two days exclusively so I might be able to finish it before I go back to work tomorrow.  If I don’t finish it I hope to have most of it done so I can at least meet my goal of having both chapters finished by the end of the month.

When I am in the process of writing a chapter I am of two minds – either I’ll love the chapter and the progress or I’ll hate it.  This chapter was more towards the hate part.  I typed it last evening mostly and thought that I would have to spend today editing it heavily.  When I listened back to the chapter today though I actually enjoyed it, particularly the interaction between Harry and Dudley at the end.  I really think that Harry would be the person Dudley knows who would best understand what its like to lose parents and the desperation that Dudley is feeling.  Thus he would feel pity for him and help him out with some magic.  Dudley has his own reasons for taking the study of magic so seriously.  There are two reasons that he’s different now than during the first time Harry tried to teach him magic.  First of all, Vernon and Petunia are no longer around, and Dudley has more incentive to learn.

We’ll not get into Dudley’s motivations yet, but remember he’s not that deep a character and so a lot of what you see is what you get.

Now in regards to the investigation: they’re starting to hone in on what’s going on.  That does not mean that its going to be easy to catch the perps.  Let’s just say that the people responsible have taken precautions and set up redundancies.  Unlike Voldemort they are not singular in how they achieve their goals.  Their resources are nearly limitless.

November 30, 2008

Update 9

It is 20:39 as I begin to write this.  I set a goal at the beginning of the month that I would have two chapters written before the end of November.  I’ve made it with three hours and twenty-one minutes to spare.  See I didn’t leave it until the last minute.

Chapter Eleven, from what I remember, is the first chapter where I have diverged a little from my outline.  I  rather like this chapter too, but I don’t think that I like it as much as some of the other chapters in the story.  I love it because, if I’ve done my job, people should be wondering what the hell is up with Dudley.  Is he good or is he bad?

If you think I’l going to tell you then you’re crazy.  Let’s just use Sirius Black’s words here:

“ . . . the world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters.”  Order Of The Phoenix (p. 271 UK Ed).

As far as Ginny, I think that she’s just confused.  One of the things that I like exploring is the difference between reality and fantasy.  Its all well and good for her to have a crush on Harry, but what would happen once she actually got the guy?  Not everything is sunshine and roses.  Sometimes we decide what we want a little too late.  Is that going to be the case here?  Read Chapter 11 and make your own decisions.

Find out if you were right next time in The Cursed Tattoo.  🙂

December 7, 2008

Update 10

If all goes well I might actually meet another goal of having chapter fifteen written and posted on his site by the end of the year.  I actually finished writing the bulk of chapter 12 in a few days.  Its amazing what can happen when you actually sit down and take the time to write.

I’ve decided to largely postpone reading for a while because I want to get this story finished.  I don’t want to rush though, but now I’m starting to get to some of the good stuff in the story.  Things are finally starting to tie together and its exciting me.  I remember one of the scenes in chapter 12, for example, that I was most looking forward to writing.  It was such a simple and short interaction between Ginny and Dudley, but so pivotal as to what’s coming in six or seven chapters.

I am fascinated by the tortured soul, and thus you’re not likely to find any fluff stories here.  There may be fluff in a story, but its usually there for a purpose at the end.

Oh, speaking of the end, I just have this feeling that people are going to absolutely love the ending of this story, or they’re going to chuck things at their computer screen.  Either way I love it.  It’ll set up the beginning of the official last part of the Demons & Shadows trilogy nicely (if I pull it off that is.)

December 9, 2008

Update 11

I cannot believe that, despite everything else going on in my life, I’ve actually managed to write two chapters of The Cursed Tattoo in two weeks.  When I set the goal of completing chapters 12 to 15 by the end of December I thought that I was nuts, wacko.  When it has taken me nearly two months to complete one chapter of this story you can understand why I thought that.

Over the last few days, since I finished the book that I’m giving people for Christmas, I’ve been afforded the opportunity to write and thus this morning I finished writing chapter thirteen, unlucky number thirteen some would say.  It is unlucky for certain characters, but lucky for others.  It is all a matter of perspective people.

I think there are two reasons why I have been able to write as much as I have.  The first is that I have set aside almost everything else and am doing little else but writing, forging such important things as sleep, and less important things like reading.  The other reason I’ve been able to write so much in the last little bit is because I’m really starting to get to the good stuff.  Time before was massing in great dollops, and it still will be for Harry and the others, however things are starting to happen now.  The Task Force is actively following up on leads, things are being learned that come in rather important at the end, and we’re starting to see Harry and Ginny get back on track.

There is so much more that I would love to tell you about this story, but then I’d have to kill you and who would then read what I’m writing?

Since you do not know what’s coming (unless you’ve already figured it out – in which case I say DAMN YOU!) you can click here to read chapter 13: The Quidditch Semi-Final.

December 21, 2008

Update 12

Its about five days late as compared to my schedule, but given the fact that I have ten days left to write chapter fifteen I am not going to apologize.

Chapter 14 . . . what can I say about it?

  1. This is the chapter that explains the name of my story.  However it does not explain the relationship between what’s happening with Harry’s scar and the connection it has to the Death Eaters actions.  That’s coming in subsequent chapters.
  2. There’s a scene between Harry and Ginny that will show itself again in the first or second chapter of the Woes of Ginny Weasley, which I hope to start writing in February of next year, if all goes well.  It was a scene that was wholly inspired by the fact I started writing that first chapter and serves several purposes.  Objects in that scene will reappear near the end of this story as well.
  3. We start to see that Kingsley really is a hands on Minister.  He was right there on the ground the minute there were problems.  I had to bring him in because of several reasons, some of which you’ll see in a few chapters, but mostly because I love him – he’s such a cool and collected guy.
  4. Briony and Ginny meet again – and there’s suspicion about what’s going on with both of them . . . which we will find out in due course.

I hate to sound conceited here, but I’m really impressed with how this story is going.  There are certainly improvement that can be made, but just the general plot is working out so well, better than I thought in fact.  Very few things have been added in the writing of the story that I didn’t intend, well, apart from small things.

I want to tell you so much more, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise at the end . . . and what’s coming up next.  Read Chapter 14 and see if you can spot what’s coming in later chapters.

January 2, 2009

Update 13

Happy New Year Everyone.

I’d love to say that with the start of the new year I am ready to start a new story, but alas that is not the case.  However I can say that I am starting on the final 10 chapters – the ones that have to be the most emotionally touching – hence the hardest to write.  I am looking very forward to writing the end of chapter sixteen.

But I’m getting ahead of myself again.  We’re not talking about chapter sixteen, are we?  No we’re not.  So let’s get back to the chapter at hand.

Things really begin to happen in this chapter.  I hope that people can clue into what’s going on with Ginny (if I’ve done my job), have a better idea of what’s going on with Bellatrix and Lucius Malfoy and what’s going on with Narcissa.

Lupin and Tonks . . . well let’s just say that things happen in this chapter that come into play in the next two stories in this series.

I think that I want to kick Hermione.  She’s so stubborn and there’s no real reason for it, but her decision is important.

January 6, 2009

Update 14

Ah, Chapter 16, the first chapter I’ve ever written that actually required me to draw a diagram like those in football to keep things straight.

This was a fun and, at times, disgusting chapter for me.  It is the first chapter in a while that I admit I deviated from my outline for.  I had wanted the battle to be the following day, but then I couldn’t come up with a plausible reason to push it back another day and so . . . presto – Instant duel: Add Death Eaters.

The Death Eaters were rather tame, I admit.  When outnumbering Aurors three to one there should have been AKs flying everywhere.  Like most things in this story though, there is a reason that they did not.  You might have guessed it already, but if not there’s more coming shortly.

Also, you can hear the frustration in both Harry and Ginny about constantly getting interrupted.  There’s a purpose for that too.  Some people think they know what’s going on with Ginny.  We’ll have to see if they are right about that.

Though this pertains to chapter fifteen, I just had to share this with you.  I also have this story posted on fanfiction.net and get great, encouraging feedback.  I think I got my favorite bit of feedback ever for chapter fifteen.  It said: I’m

I’ve got to say, this isone of the most confusing, frustrating, horrible, brilliant stories ever. I think I know what’s up with Ginny, but the first part of this chapter got me an answer, and with the Colin (very sad) part of it flew away.

I’m confusing people now?  I love it.  I’m impressed that people don’t really know where I’m going with this story.  It would make it all less enjoyable if they could see the end coming from a mile away.  I hope now that I’ve dropped enough clues to give people a good sense of where things are going.

I want to come right out and point out what people should look for, but I don’t want to do that or they will definitely know where I’m going.

Wow, this chapter might be shorter than the last but this post certainly is not.  I’ll stop typing now and let you get on with chapter sixteen.

January 10, 2009

Update 15

I wrote this chapter in the space of one day.  It took me longer to edit it than it did to write it – at least that’s the way it felt.  I think the main reason is that the next chapter begins the incidents that bring the story to an end.  Only at the end of the chapter do we begin the direct incidents that will lead to the climax.

Its a strange feeling.  I was reading my outline for the next chapter and I could not believe that I was getting ready to write those scenes already.  I thought for sure that nothing would happen until chapter nineteen.  Though its been about ten months since I started writing, which is three times longer than it took me to write all of All You Need Is Love, I can’t believe I’m here already.  I think the reason I feel like this is because I’ve written so much in the last month or so.  I’ve probably written most of this story in the last few months and I hope to have most of it done by the end of the month.

There are things coming up that gross me out every time I think of them . .  .ew . . . even now but I’ll not say more lest I give something away.

See you on the other side of chapter eighteen – the one that changes everything.  In the meantime you can read chapter seventeen to tide you over.

January 13, 2009

Update 16

Wow, we’re almost at 20 updates on this story – and even closer to twenty chapters.  Speaking of chapters when I was writing All You Need Is Love there were times when I had to sweat over the title of a chapter for some time.  For the most part the titles have come to me before I’ve written the chapter or present themselves after the chapter is written.  This one I had to really struggle with.  I wanted to take a page out of the friends titling scheme and name it: The One That Changes Everything, but I felt that would give too much away.  Then I was thinking of titling it Leads, because that’s essentially what this whole chapter is about, even if we don’t know it (wink, wink), but that would have been more fitting if they were back in Leeds, which thy were but for such a short time that it hardly bears mentioning.  I also considered titles that had to do with Dudley’s part in this story.  I even went so far as to title this chapter The Things That Go Bump In The Night, but thought that might be too crass and didn’t really fit with most of the chapter – well it sort of would referring to the cracks that are heard.  But eventually I came up with Crack & Bang.  It doesn’t really meet with the conventional title format that I’ve had, but I think it fits so well and I’m rather proud of the title.  I will proclaim it loud: CHAPTER EIGHTEEN: CRACK & BANG.

I’ve been making notes on the climactic scene as I go along and I’ve determined that there is a lot to wrap up.  I’ve ben, I should really reread the story to be sure, tied up a few things that I hadn’t originally intended to tie up – but it works perfectly.  I can’t wait to get some answers to everyone.

There is some backstory to Brazill that I hope I didn’t contradict from earlier in the story – oops, that’s what second drafts are for.  But I rather like the idea of bringing in some of the evilness that J.K. Rowling showed in Deathly Hallows.  This is my homage to that.  There’s a little more coming with Umbridge, but we’ll fine out what that is in a few more chapters.

Tougas, has become a little distracted, did you notice?  He becomes more so in this next chapter, and even stops attacking Harry.  Now what could have caused that type of change?  I might have to say that it is almost out of character.  Suffice it to say though, its not only Harry who can pick up on the most minute things but then miss those which are glaringly obvious.

January 14, 2009

Update 17

I cannot believe how far ahead of my writing schedule I am.  I had wanted to have this chapter written by January 22 and I have it done eight days ahead of schedule.  I think that some of the reason is for this one particular fan on fanfiction.net who is loving my story.  But I think mostly it is because I am enjoying writing this story and since I’ve been writing it for so long to finally get to the stage where I’m at now – the culmination if you will . . . its so exciting, even if I can’t stand what’s happening to the characters.

Unlike the last chapter, this title came right from my outline.  It can be taken several ways.  I’ll give a prize to the person who tells me what those ways are.  🙂  Actually, no prize – praise.  I will praise you.

There was a whole extended abduction scene from the first story that I was going to include here, but I think that will work better for later so I decided not to include it.  And no, its not just because I’m being lazy.  I think if I included it here, people would expect Ginny to come totally unhinged and that’s for later – oops did I just type that out loud?  🙂

I am a sucker for the angst, because this was the start of the part I was most looking forward to writing and its these events that lead directly to the climax and the Woes of Ginny Weasley – a story that I cannot wait to write.

January 14, 2009

Update 18

Second update for today.  One of the benefits of not working, for whatever reason, is that you have time to do other things including write.  I was able to write the whole of chapter nineteen yesterday and the whole of chapter twenty today.  I must admit that these two chapters combined are about the length of chapter eighteen, but even so . . . If I’ve done my job they should be rather difficult to read.  They’re certainly not light reading anyway so the shorter length might be a good thing.

In regards to the shorter length, that is the case for the story as well. When I was reviewing my outline I determine there was some content in chapters twenty and twenty-one that really didn’t need to be spread over two chapters and thus I combined them together meaning that this story will only be twenty-four chapters.  And if I can keep up the pace I’m currently writing at I might not only have this story finished at my goal date, I might have it finished before the end of next week.  I love the story, but I really want to finish it and move on to The Woes of Ginny Weasley.

January 18, 2009

Update 19

I might have to put in an extra update just so I can match the number of updates with the number of chapters.  Oh well, perhaps on the next story.

Needless to say, since this update is up you will have already guessed that Chapter 21- the setup for the big, huge, climactic chapter, is up and ready for reading.  I admit that the first draft of this chapter was absolutely horrendous (it wouldn’t have made it through the American Idol judges at all!)  Since it was slow at work today I was able to type more than half of it.  It was a productive Sunday at work before the start of vacation.  I love it!

Now, this chapter is a little confusing because there’s a viewpoint change and a shift in time.  I know that technically we’re not supposed to do that, but I really wanted to get Ginny’s reaction to Harry’s words and the confrontation with Briony.  It was less of a confrontation than I’d wanted it to be, but I think that it’s more true to how she is.  She’s more worried about Harry and repairing the damage that Dudley did than about stupid little Briony – who has a secret – soon to be revealed.

Harry, on the other hand, has gone to see Remus to talk.  They do so, and only with Lupin’s calm manner and logical thinking does Harry begin to see that he might have been too hasty.  Who would have thought Harry could be too hasty?  This realization causes him to feel uncomfortable and to overreact after Narcissa tells him the truth about what happened to Ginny.

One more thing.  Last update I talked about how I cut out one chapter from the story, thus making it only twenty-four chapters in length.  Well I’ve done it again.  Chapters twenty to twenty-three were very much comprised of the same sort of things and thus didn’t really need to be spread over four chapters.  I was able to cut that down to two and thus there are now only going to be twenty-three chapters in this story.  The last few have been short, I know, but my outline for the next one is somewhere around four typed pages so I’m predicting 15.000 words.  If I achieve that it will be my longest chapter ever.

January 21, 2009

Update 20

Second last update for this story – at least in terms of the first draft.

Its funny because I still consider this the first draft, but I’ve changed so much in chapter 22 that it really could be a second draft.

The one thing that I have to say about this chapter is that it is the dialogue chapter for sure.  there are pages and pages of dialogue – but it was the best way to get all the information out that I needed to.  This story is coming to a close and I wanted to get all the plot points wrapped up.  Well, all except one.  There’s one that is still outstanding but that gets resolved in the next chapter.

A short update this time – next update I’ll have reflections on writing this story as a whole – maybe.  Also I’ll be back to releasing some BriCast Episodes once this story is done.

January 25, 2009

Update 21

This is it, dear readers, the last update for The Cursed Tattoo.  Bear with me because finishing something makes me both reflective and future-minded so this will probably be a longer post than usual.  Some days I thought that this day would never come, particularly in the dogs days that were the summer of 2008.  It took weeks upon weeks to write chapter six, and then I decided to start a podcast which took up a good deal of the summer and early autumn.  I don’t know what it was that made me get on with this story in a vengeance, but I wrote the last fifteen chapters between the beginning of October and today, January 25.  So it took me seven months to write eight chapters and three and a half months to write fifteen.  Good on me, I guess.

I will be the first to admit that there are still vast improvements that can be made on this story, and I’m sure going to make them once I take the advice of Stephen King and let this story sit for a while.  I’ve certainly benefited from that with All You Need Is Love.

I do have to say that it is a weird sensation though, to be done this story in, really, such a short space of time when it took me so long to write the first few chapters.  I do like this story.  I think that in plot alone it is loads better than All You Need Is Love.  Again, it’s not perfect, but that’s what edits and experience are for.  I know reading chapter 22 aloud after a few days I cringe at some of it, but this is again why we edit.  Other than in chapter 22, there was none of the back and forth of All you Need Is Love.  I don’t think there were as many false starts as there were in the other story as well.  Oh, I could go on for hours about that story, but seeing as it was my first serious attempt to write a chaptered story since I was a teenager, and my first real attempt at a fan fiction I can hardly be held up to J.K. Rowling sized standards (I only wish I could write like her), can I?  I suppose, having so recently finished The Cursed Tattoo I can’t look at it as objectively as I can All You Need Is Love, but I’m still going to stand by the fact that it’s an improvement over the first one.

So this chapter, I feel like throwing things at the screen as I write this post.  Harry makes me so mad sometimes.  I can see his point, where he’s coming from, but at the same time I want to say that his decision didn’t work the first time and it’s hardly going to work the second or third time around.  This time, however, especially with Ginny’s little surprise (once he learns of it, of course) will change everything.  Let’s just say that the stakes will be raised.  He’s a masochist, Harry is, to put himself through everything that he does, and not to listen to Ginny.

This is the chapter in it’s second incarnation.  The first one I started writing from Harry’s perspective and then had to switch to Ginny’s to get the interaction between her and her mother.  Then I switched back to Harry and dealt with everything at the end through his eyes.  Three perspective changes in 3000 words seemed a little much so I switched everything to Ginny’s perspective, it worked better and we see how high the stakes are.

Chapter 23, the final one, can be read here.

Now . . .

You might be asking yourself how I could have ended the story the way I did.  I could tell you the truth, which is that I’m a cruel and evil person who likes to torture you.  That’s true, but the rest of the reason is that I have a third and final Harry/Ginny story that I’m going to write along this same Alternate Universe story.  I have most of the Harry/Ginny story line worked out, but I’m sorry to say that, since I’m not writing fluff here (I hope) that I need more of a story line than that, which I don’t have.  I’ve got the basics and a potential plot line, but nothing that I can completely work out yet.  I’d love to do something with Umbridge though . . .

So for now I’m going to go back to the podcasts, get caught up on those, and slowly, and more thoroughly, work out the plot for what is tentatively titled The Woes Of Ginny Weasley.  I don’t have a time frame for when I plan to have this started, but I’m hoping to have it started for around the same time as The Cursed Tattoo, which was back in March of 2008.

As always, I enjoy feedback.

Leave a Reply

