Omni: Woes Of Ginny Weasley

July 11, 2013

Update 27

No this is not a post about the movie, which I have never seen.  Rather it is a rather scatter-brained update to my fan fictions.  I believe the last time I published a chapter of this story was sometime in 2011, for a story that was started in 2009.  Given the fact that it is a story that is not even 80000 words that a freakishly long time to take on a first draft

Can I say that chapter thirteen is the best I’ve ever written?  Truthfully no, but I can say that it is finished and published and hopefully doesn’t have too many grammatical errors.  Sweet.  And sap that I am I was bawling as I wrote the ending – which actually turned out different from what I wanted – but I think it will make more sense with the rest of the story.  And there are at maximum only three more chapters left of this stupid story and then I cam move onto something new.

So here it is: the two years long chapter: Woes of Ginny Weasley, Chapter Thirteen: The Ring.

Enjoy.

August 1, 2011

Update 26

Now here’s an update that I never thought would happen.  I wrote and rewrote this chapter at least a dozen in it’s entirety, piece by piece.  I obviously didn’t achieve my goal by finishing this story before the release of Deathly Hallows part 2, as evidenced by my above post, but given how this chapter was conspiring against me, I feel it an accomplishment to even get it publishable at all.

I have to thank the Deathly Hallows 2 soundtrack for allowing me to finish.  I’ve listened to it at least 2 dozen times this week alone.  Repeat is a wonderful thing.

I have to say that I’m surprisingly pleased at how this chapter turns out.  I don’t have a hysterical girl on my hands, but she does get emotional.  And I’ve set up the next chapter well to start it as I planned all those months ago.  Publishing has also given me a yen to really finish this story.  I had reading goals this week but I think I’m going to through those out the window and just try to write, especially because I have early work days, more time to write in the evenings.  Yay.

I hope you enjoy this chapter – or like it, it’s not particularly enjoyable.

April 24, 2011

Update 25

I struggled with this chapter more than the previous one, surprisingly.  It was hard, given how angry Ginny was at the end to get her to do what I needed her to do here.  It is done though, and I’m relatively happy with it.  I hope you are to.

April 10, 2011

Update 24

Words cannot express how excited I am to get this chapter out.  Here we have, finally, the scene that inspired the entire story. It’s changed sine I changed my original idea for the story (initially Harry was supposed to be around, but here he is not), but when Ginny comes in and sees father and son lying on the sofa together . . . I was listening to a Mariah Carey song called For the Record and it gave me an idea about how to end this trilogy (it wasn’t a trilogy at first).  So I suppose I have to thank or curse Mariah for the inspiration.

For the first time in one of my stories, well one of my fan fics anyway, someone uses out and out foul language.  Hell and damn are profanity, but the big one is dropped in this chapter.  Given the context of the conversation, I don’t think that tis gratuitous, but I really had to think about using it.

Now that I have Harry and Ginny quasi-back together though, I need to keep writing.  So I’ve posted chapter ten for your perusal here, and would appreciate constructive feedback.

April 5, 2011

Update 23

Its always easy to tell when I get into a writing frenzy.  Many, many chapters are released in a short period of time.  Chapter nine is a case in point.

For the most part I like the way this chapter went, but there’s too much dialogue.  I think it was necessary though, because I needed to get a lot out before the next chapter.  The next chapter will include the scene that inspired me to write the whole story so I’m so very excited about writing it.  That’s why I’m done writing this update.

April 4, 2011

Update 22

Another plan of mine was crumpled up and thrown in the trash.  I wanted to have this chapter posted by the end of March but that didn’t happen.  In my own defense, I think that it is better for it.  When I sat down yesterday to do some serious editing I found that I just didn’t like the way the chapter was structured.  And having said that, I scraped it and started over.  I can’t say that I was happy about it yesterday because I thought it meant that I might not get to work on chapter nine, but it turns out that I wrote chapter eight today.  It took me all day mind you, but it is complete, and Ginny is far less annoying in this chapter than she was in the previous version.

And I was going on previously about how it was exciting because I’d never made it past chapter six in previous versions of this story and was therefore so happy to have published chapter eight.  Here’s a flaw in that thinking: versions one and two of this story did not have a prologue but version three does.  Therefore, chapter seven that I was so happy to publish was the eighth chapter.  I should have been celebrating one chapter earlier.

Reviews are always welcome and very appreciated.  Cheers.

March 28, 2011

Update 21

So it does not appear that I am going to achieve my goal of having chapter 12 published by the end of March.  On the upside, however, I have discovered that I haven’t been completely faithful to my outline and therefore have been able to cut out at least two chapters.  Having said that, if I can write, edit and upload chapter eight in the next three days I’ll only be two chapters behind, not four.  We must think positively!

Now to this chapter: So very much happens here that I could go on for a long time, but then that would give away the end, and I’d rather everyone have an inkling but not know for sure.  What I will say is that at the end of this chapter I had some of the most fun writing this story.  This scene with Ginny and Rossi is probably the second scene that I thought of when I decided that this series was going to be a trilogy.  It was so much fun to write, especially because as I was plotting this chapter I decided to change things up just a bit in terms of her sighting.  Perhaps I’ll be a little less evasive once I’ve finished writing the story, which shouldn’t be any later than the end of May if all goes according to plan.

March 16, 2011

Update 20

So things are beginning to come together now, really come together.  In the next chapter we’re going to have a welcome visitor, but for now, we have to deal with the fact that Ginny had realized she needs to move on.  She’s gone so far as to take off her ring at last, but hasn’t made it much farther than there.  With the exception of one or two more chapters here, the rest of this story is going to rock, and it’s the reason that I wanted to write this story in the first place.

Here we see Ginny meeting with Declan Fohn, and find out why he wants to meet with her.  It’s not a success for him at all.

March 10, 2011

Update 19

Yay, this is another chapter done.  I feel particularly proud of finishing this one because at times it seemed like I was never going to be able to finish.  Nothing I was writing seemed right, and then there was just the general lack of enthusiasm.

Having said that, the latter part of this chapter is one of the first scenes I thought of when I was thinking of writing a third part to this story.  This scene was conceived mostly when I was still writing The Cursed Tattoo, so that was something like three years ago.  I like the way it turned out.

My goal is to write seven more chapters this month, so rather than going on about the one that I just finished, I’ll let you read chapter five on your own.  Comments and feedback are always welcome.

February 23, 2011

Update 18

Not ten days after Valentine’s Day seems an appropriate time to write about Christmas, doesn’t it?  I’m going to preemptively guess that your answer is no, but too bad.  Chapter four of this story deals with Christmas Eve and Christmas day.  I eel in some ways like the story isn’t going anywhere, and I really feel like there’s a certain disconnect in this chapter in particular.  Some of that may have to do with the fact that its out of season, but it amy also have to do with the fact that I completely blew three writing goals in trying to get this chapter out so I’m feeling quite resentful to it at the moment.

In any case, we see here a little bit of the tension that fills the Weasley household.  Hermione’s acting curious.  The rest of the family has this ongoing discussion about what’s happened to Harry that Ginny doesn’t like to take part in, and we have a second mention of these break-ins.  Hmmm . . . What’s going on?

Not a whole hell of a lot.  I’m just looking forward to writing the next chapter, and am hoping to have it and chapter six out for Monday.  I don’t know if that will happen but I’m going to do my damnedest to get chapter five out before the end of the month.  In the meantime here’s a few chapters to tide you over:

February 4, 2011

Update 17

This chapter is the first that I’ve written under my new timetable, and I’ve completed and uploaded it with three hours to spare.  Yay.  And for the fact that I didn’t give myself unlimited amounts of tim to write the chapter, I think that it went rather well.  Though I suppose not much seems to happen here.  We’re still sort of in the set up phase of the story.  Next chapter I think is the last of those and then we get into the real action – or as much action as my stories ever have.

I think that the new desire to finish this story is just that I’ve become more focused and decided that the sooner I have one thing done the more concentration and time I can spend on other things.  And besides that, if I ever want to get better at writing, I should try writing different things, not just rewriting existing stories, should I not?

In any case, here we see Ginny returning home from her adventurous day and finding that things aren’t well at all, not in the least because there’s some idiot (Declan Fohn) who is trying to sell prejudice as ancestral pride.  This will become important later as part of her re-empowerment (is that a word).  How is Fohn doing this?  By holding Ginny up as a martyr, and vilifying Harry for not being there.  It is a tactic that works very well for it’s aim: to get attention.  And in the end we see what Fohn’s accusations have done, or what they’ve started to do.

January 30, 2011

Update 16

Well I don’t think that I am going to achieve my goal of having four chapters written this month, but the fact that I got two done and published, and might have room for a third (although that seems unlikely) is amazing in and of itself.

I’m happy with chapter two in many respects, but in others I think that a few weeks, or months down the road I might loathe it.  For good or bad though we have finally got Ginny out of her flat and back into the world.  We see some of the ramifications of her jumpiness here.  Some clues are more obvious than others, although subtlety has never been my strength!.

Happy reading.  Feel free to leave comments.  Comments would be awesome!

January 7, 2011

Update 15

A few days ago I was ready to stop writing this story because I was struck by a muse that told me I needed to write the next story in this series.  It is a story about a child of Harry and Ginny’s and as I was writing something else , I had an idea for this new story and was so enthused that it became a priority.  But then I thought better of it.  I couldn’t leave Ginny in the state she was in at the end of Cursed Tattoo, and in this first chapter.  We need to get her and Harry back together.

Yes I might be giving away part of the story (sorry for the lack of spoiler warnings), but I’m a huge Harry/Ginny shipper and I can’t leave them apart for too long.  So they do get back together, but with a story titled the Woes of anyone, you know that it isn’t going to be an easy road.  That’s perhaps the reason I wanted to write this other story, because it is much happier.  We get to see Harry as a dad!

But I digress because this post is not about that as-yet untitled tale, it is about the Woes of Ginny Weasley.  So I will tell you this: since I’m a goal oriented person I set myself eight days to write each chapter.  This means that I should have three more chapters after this one posted by the end of January.  That will be 5 in total.  I think that’s very achievable, because this first chapter is always the hard one to get out – the establishing chapter.  And chapter five is the one where Ginny sort of comes back into her own again.

All told I think the whole story will be around nineteen or twenty chapters, maybe twenty-one with the prologue, but shorter than the first two in any case.  And chapter five of this version of the story will be the sixth chapter, that’s where I seemed to stop in versions one and two, but it where things start getting interesting, so hopefully that will sustain me!

I’m 59 minutes under my goal for finishing this chapter.  Yay.  And you can therefore read it 59 minutes earlier by clicking on this link.  If you desire to read the predecessors, Chapter One: When In Paris (version 1) is readable here, and Chapter One: Divide & Conquer (version 2) is readable here.

December 8, 2010

Update 14

Lucky number thirteen.  Its funny to think that there have been thirteen updates to this story and just now I’m writing to tell you about the Prologue.  Although you will see that there are eleven other chapters posted or this story, all varying in aspects.  The ironic thing is that neither of the two versions of the story that I’ve posted thus far really get to the heart of the story that I wanted to write.  I think this one will though, if I do the thing properly.

If this prologue, an addition to my original outline, is any indication though, its going to take me forever to write the story.  I wanted to have it finished by the release of the first part of the Deathly Hallows movie, but since that’s come and gone I guess that goal was shot to hell.  My new goal is to have this one finished by the time the second part comes out.  Hopefully I’ll have it completed with loads of time to spare and will have moved on to something else.  I have several other Potter ideas, and several non-fan fic ideas that I want to write.  I also have an idea for a fan fiction cross over between Harry and Dexter, but I won’t say more about that here.

So the Prologue: A Promise.  Like I said above, I hadn’t planned to write a prologue, so this was an addendum, which might explain why it took me so freaking long to write it.  I don’t want to say more about the story itself, but I will say that I think it is important for us to see Harry and Ginny in a great light here.  And what better way to do that than because of a baby.  It to me speaks to several fundamental issues: Harry’s want of a family, and Ginny’s realization of what being pregnant really means.

I apologize if this chapter is a bit choppy.  It was way worse in previous drafts, but I have decided to stop editing it to death and post it as is.  This is only supposed to be a first draft of the story after all.

Enjoy!

November 18, 2010

Update 13

Perhaps it is all the hype from the soon to be released Deathly Hallows movie, but I find that I’m being sucked back into Potter mania.  No, I haven’t sat down and read the books for the twenty-fifth time (I’ve actually lost count now!), but my interest in fan fiction is returning.

I last posted about this story back in June, and then my interest floundered when I realized that it was taking way too long to get to the real point of it all.  It wasn’t that I disliked the story, or what I was writing (with a few exceptions), but it was moving too slow based on the point of it all.  I therefore made the decision to put this story aside and work on something original, which I did for some time, but I don’t have any chapters to prove it.  So that was a complete waste of time, wasn’t it?  And now, as I said above, with the release of the first part of the Deathly Hallows movie, I feel a need to complete my own fan fiction.  In the interest of moving things along, I have chopped out basically all of the stuff that I wrote in the second draft, and that’s going to be used for backstory.  I’ve jumped ahead about sixteen months, and changed up some things to do with Harry, and I’m feeling enthused about it, though I’ve still only written part of the prologue and part of the first chapter.

Having said that, it doesn’t look like I will achieve my original goal of having this story completed before the release of the movie.  To do so I would have to get all hocked up on speed, skip work, not sleep, have caffeine fed to me through an intravenous, and would have to have every single muse out there working with me.  Call me crazy, but I don’t see that happening.  So my new long-term goal is to finish for the release of Deathly Hallows part 2.  That gives me eight months, and if I stick to writing a little every day I think I can do it.  Writing, especially in the fantasy genre,  will be a nice break from analyzing credit applications anyway.

My short-term goal is to have at least the prologue and the first two chapters done by the end of this month.  I haven’t decided if I want to publish them right away, because I have learned from past experience in that the first few chapters are usually the most malleable for me, and I hate having to go back and reedit already published works because I’ve changed my mind.  Plus, if I don’t have it published, then it gives me some separation.  I’ll write it and then give it a few weeks, go back and read it.  I tend to have a better view of the chapter when I do that.

So, yes, people, Woes of Ginny Weasley, version three, is coming.  And hopefully after I’ve seen Deathly Hallows, which will be in about 41 hours, I will feel more inclined to write.

Cheers,

Sabrina

04:17

June 8, 2010

Update 12

Its amazing what you can accomplish when spurred on by caffeine and adrenaline.  Not so many days ago I started a page one rewrite of this chapter.  And after spending at least eight hours on it yesterday, and sacrificing all but an hour of sleep before I go to work today, I have managed to get it finished and up to my initial satisfaction.  I’m sure I’ll see glaring errors when I read it later, but for now . . .

Publishing this chapter today is even more of a major accomplishment because of the fact that trailer for the new Harry Potter movie came out not 48 hours ago, and I’ve watched it probably that many times already!  But that is not a topic to discuss here.

Though, as I’ve already said, I’m probably going to edit this chapter more, I really like the interaction between Harry and Ginny.  We’ve gone from thinking that he’s a complete schmuck, to seeing that he’s not all that bad after all.  And I think I’ve set up nicely some of Ginny’s own culpability in what went wrong.  That should work out nicely for something that happens in chapter seven or eight.  There was more that I wanted to happen in this chapter, and I’m probably going to rewrite the last paragraph in the very near future, but again I am particularly proud of the last little bit of Ginny’s remembrances.

I’ll stop writing now and let you read the chapter for yourself.

May 5, 2010

Update 11

Two discoveries have hastened the publishing of this chapter: 1. I really want to write the latter chapters of this story, which should be good if I can stick to my outline and not make it too lame, and 2. typing is much faster than writing longhand.  I think that the latter discovery is the most important because what happens when I write longhand is that I am loath to scrap what I’ve written and start over because its such a waste of paper, so I will write the entire chapter and type it up only to discover that I’ve written utter rubbish.  On a word processor though – no such problem.  If I’ve written sludge I can just delete it and write over.  It saves days and days of work.

Now, chapter four: The Healer.  Ginny and her mysterious captor arrive at a not so mysterious location.  She learns what has happened to the rest of her family, and she gets some treatment for her various ailments.  She also gets some rather shocking news that’s going to change things in her relationship with Harry.

THis chapter was intended to be much longer, but when I got to what I deemed the end it seemed a fitting place to stop.  The rest of that chapter will be chapter five.  I really didn’t think that it made sense to have a whole other altercation in this chapter.  It would seem too draggy, and I wouldn’t have been able to get this chapter published like I wanted to.

April 20, 2010

Update 10

You thought this post would never come, didn’t you? Go on, admit it.  I certainly didn’t think that it would ever come.  I swear I had this chapter written nearly a month ago and had it typed up probably around that time, but then I decided to rewrite practically the whole damned thing and it took forever to get back into Harry and Ginny’s mindsets.  It also was also difficult to write something that didn’t seem completely cheesy, and I hope I’ve managed to do that.

I actually thought that this chapter would be shorter than it turned out to be because as I was writing the scene in which they return to the Burrow I was only about six pages in, but it still ended up being about 4700 words.  I’m actually impressed by that, not that length is a big factor.

Given my struggles with writing this story I might be tempted to abandon it all together, but the later chapters are going to be the ones most fun to write.  Essentially once I get past the stuff that I’ve already written, which really was in this chapter.  What I’ve accomplished in this chapter is essentially what it took me seven chapters to accomplish in the old version.

March 5, 2010

Update 9

At this point in time I feel that I am never going to be finished this story.  It has been more than a year since I first updated the story and I am now at about the same place that I was twelve months ago.  On a positive note I think that I have written a better second draft of this chapter than the one that was previously posted, but who can tell for sure.

I think this chapter does a good job of starting everything that I wanted it to, such as Ginny’s ‘wonky’ magic.  I do think that some of what I am trying to write might be a bit bigger than me – in terms of the emotional struggle that she’s going through and that she will continue to go through in this story, but that becomes less of an issue as time goes on.

I have started writing chapter three, although just barely.  My goal is to try to write and post a chapter at least every ten days, but we’ll have to see how that goes.  I’m having a struggle with some personal issues and writing is giving me some trouble, but I’m trying to put that aside.

I hope you enjoy this chapter, whatever version you decide to read.

January 4, 2010

Update 8

It was almost a year ago that I wrote the first update on this story in which I said that I had published chapter one.  This, the seventh update on this story, I am here to tell you that I have published chapter one again.  Time is a circular thing, especially when you begin rewriting.

I can tell you that this story was always meant to be more of an emotional than a physical struggle, but the last attempt at writing was getting way too whiny and out of hand.  I hope to avoid that with this one because there is more going on.  For instance in the seven chapters that I wrote, there were so many conversations or meetings with Harry, but they were all basically the same thing and little was accomplished in them.  Here, I think that there will be fewer separate meetings but more time spent with Harry.  Hopefully, if I do it right, I think that this will be better.  I’m already much better pleased with the first chapter.

October 17, 2009

Update 7

I have made an irrevocable decision to scrap this story and start over.  Most of the basic story line between Harry and Ginny will still be in place, but I’m adding a lot more development for the other characters, changing some of Harry and Ginny’s behaviour and the like.  I just think the old version of the story is too melodramatic.  One of the reviews I received was absolutely correct.  I had basically backed myself into a corner and I wasn’t quite sure how to get out.

I am definitely going to keep the original version of the story up – at least the first six chapters of it.  But hereafter I am going to include only the new version on the Demons & Shadows Trilogy page, however both will be accessible from the DSTrilogy page for the present..

I am also going to try writing several chapters before posting this story as I’ve threatened to do before, only because I tend to revise a lot, especially in the first few chapters, and it can then be confusing for those who have read the earlier versions of the story.

September 1, 2009

Update 6

If I keep writing at this pace it will be some time in 2011 that I finish this story.  That is simply unacceptable.

I think the reason its so slow in coming is because I’m trying to make it the best story possible.  There are a lot of emotional battles that my characters are fighting and I’m trying to write them to the best of my ability.  Unfortunately my ability isn’t as great as it should be to write what I’m writing and consequently re-writes are numbering in the range between 5 and 10.  Why, just this chapter I done gone and changed the entire ending.

Haha.  A story about British characters and I’ve written Southern U.S. accent.  That’s funny.

I have to say that after fiddling with it until 3:40 a.m. I am well pleased with this chapter.  It sets up what it needs to – a great feat considering it wasn’t even in my outline.

Now it will be onto chapter seven – one of the two most fiddly chapters (and hopefully emotional too) in the story.  I have a great chuck of this written from way back when I was writing the Cursed Tattoo.  Some things have changed though so I’ll have to change them in the story.  Here’s hoping you’ll enjoy that.

July 28, 2009

Update 5

I honestly thought that it would take a lot longer to write this chapter than it did.  I suppose though that the last chapter taking seven weeks might have been the reason for this.  Based on my last publish date on this site it appears that it took me about twelve days to write this chapter.  That’s not too bad.  Its not great either, but it does tell me that I won’t likely be achieving my goals of writing Woes, Peverell Prophecy and the final to this series by the end of the year.  Not unless something happens to speed up my writing or to give me a hell of a lot more free time anyway.

I’ll digress to make one more point: I’m just in the middle of developing the final part to this trilogy and I have to say I’m really looking forward to writing it.  I will say only that it has to do with the next generation of the Potter family, and I think its much more adult than these stories.  it is if I stick to the current plot, anyway.  Not that I’m saying this story isn’t mature, given what they’re dealing with – but it’s just . . . ARGH . . . I want to say so much but then I don’t want to spoil anyone reading this post.  Suffice it to say that this ‘next generation’ hasn’t had to deal with the harsh realities of life as early as Harry did.  When they’re exposed to it, it comes as a real shock!  There.  That doesn’t give too much away.

Now onto this chapter.  Things are starting to slowly move away from the end of the last story.  At least the threads from the last story have been tied up.  Now its moving onto the moving on type things.  Ginny is learning to deal with her situation, but slowly.  The next chapter will be a huge jump, then there’ll be a bit of a backslide for a chapter or two and then we’ll be moving on full sped ahead.

On one of the other sites I post this story on someone commented that this story depresses them.  I have to say that I love to hear that, Things are depressing for Ginny at the moment.  Given everything that she’s been through its hardly surprising.

There’s more that I could say but at the moment I just want to get this out there.  Perhaps if I start my podcast again I will have more to say.

July 16, 2009

Update 4

Oh boy is this update long overdue.  I can blame school for part of it, but the rest comes down to lack of inspiration, caprice, and perfectionism.  In the end though I did see the light and now I have a chapter that I am really happy with.  I mean really happy.  I’m sure my computer isn’t as happy, having played When Ginny Kissed Harry about forty times in a row as I was writing last night, but that’s it’s job, right?

I am sure I’ve felt pleased with my writing before, but I really enjoy this chapter.  I don’t think it was too over the top (like my first draft), nor do I think it’s too soft.  We begin to see how Ginny is weighted down with guilt and a depression.  We see the same with Harry, really, and is that his resolve I hear cracking?

I typed this chapter verbatim from my writing book, and then promptly (or not so promptly) changed about 99% of it.  This is likely the reason why a chapter that I officially finished more than two weeks ago is just being posted now.  A lot of fiddling went on in this chapter until I thought it was about as perfect as I was going to get it.  So please read Chapter 4: What Gabriel Started.

May 7, 2009

Update 3: The Importance of Ginny Weasley

First of all, anyone who might be reading this page should know that I’m probably not going to have an update to the Woes of Ginny Weasley for a while, given how much work I have to do with school.  I just recently posted a new chapter though, and thus have received some comments that have intrigued me.

Let me very quickly give you a little background on my Demons & Shadows trilogy.

All You Need Is Love – This was a story I wrote when I was impatiently waiting for Deathly Hallows to be released.  It was my take on the Horcrux hunt.  I can’t even say that it was my take entirely.  The Horcruxes sometimes almost seemed like secondary things sometimes.  But at the end of the story Voldemort dies by Harry’s hand.  It looks like everything is going to end up happily ever after but only because I wasn’t planning on writing a sequel and then I got this idea and I had to run with it.

The Cursed Tattoo – In this story it is four years after the death of Voldemort but the Death Eaters are far from quiet.  Harry is just beginning his career as an Auror and after a lucky save of Yaxley he is assigned to the task force working to track down Bellatrix Lestrange and Lucius Malfoy.  LIttle does he know that this was not a coincidental appointment.  His happy relationship with Ginny is tested to it’s limits by this case and the reappearance of Dudley Dursley in his life.  By the end things may never be the same again.

The Woes of Ginny Weasley – I’m sort of giving away the end of the Cursed Tattoo here, but it turned out that Bellatrix Lestrange had connections in the Ministry of Magic and she uses those connections to her advantage in manipulating Harry.  She goes so far as to track down his cousin, Dudley and gets him on her side by offering a most valued prize for his assistance – Ginny.  Dudley gets what he wants, much to Ginny’s disgust and revulsion.  Harry misunderstands this relationship and is devastated – telling Ginny off for something she was a victim of.  After an altercation with Bellatrix Lestrange Harry decides it would be safer for him to leave – again.

That was where the Cursed Tattoo ended.  This story picks up where that left off.  Ginny is dealing with the aftermath of her encounter with Dudley, the idea that she’s pregnant, and the fact that Harry left again.

OK, so here’s what’s happened so far.

Bellatrix is up to her usual tricks – destroying famous monuments after finding out that Ginny’s pregnant and that there may be a new group of pro-pureblood adherents.  She’s also learning of Ginny’s pregnancy through some mysterious man.

Ginny is having terrible bouts of wakefulness because of her fears or anxieties about Dudley Dursley, even though he was arrested and sent to Azkaban for what he did to her.  She’s less balanced than she’s ever been because of that incident with Dudley, the pregnancy and Harry’s abandonment.  She tends to have radical mood swings from anger to deep depression to what she considers annoying anxiety and nausea but she persists and knows that she has to tell Harry about their baby.  She thinks to herself that she knows Harry won’t change his mind, but she can’t help hoping it all the same.  He, however, out of shock, asks if the baby’s his – just speaking at random really.  She’s infuriated and punches him.

Thereafter Ginny returns to the Burrow and Harry follows.  They have a conversation about various aspects of the pregnancy and how long she’s known.  Nothing is really decided about the baby that day.

Ginny tells the family and they are livid, particularly when she tells them that Harry has left her again.

OK.  So some people have taken issue with what I’ve written so I feel the need to justify myself.

First things first, I think that Ginny’s relationship with Harry is a little unhealthy.  By that I mean I don’t think that it progressed normally.  She had a crush on him at first and then that eventually blossomed into a friendship and then a romantic relationship.  After all the worry over what was going to happen when Harry eventually faced down Voldemort she was a little too clingy (well, not to mention what else happened!  Read All You Need Is Love to catch my meaning).  They were both shoved into the spotlight because of the nature of Voldemort’s defeat and this wasn’t made any easier when Harry decided to become an Auror and Ginny went into professional Quidditch.  She had fame in her own right but she really couldn’t get out from under Harry’s shadow.  Trying to find her own identity was hard for her, and before she had fully reconciled it Harry abruptly withdrew from her life.  So a lot of this story is going to have to do with her really finding her voice and her notorious backbone.

I also tend to believe that Harry and Ginny really belong together but that Harry really still sees her as someone who needs to be saved or protected.  He tried the walking away thing but that didn’t work and she was captured by Voldemort.  He didn’t walk away and she was the reward for Dudley (something I am still grossed out by, even though I wrote it).  He thinks, wrongly, that he’s got to stay away from her permanently.  He loves her, he really does, but he thinks that she’s better without him.  When he learns that she’s pregnant though, he panics.  He knows she wouldn’t lie about such a thing and he’s ravaged with guilt for his decision.  He really wants to say all’s forgiven but he thinks that she won’t forgive him and he’s still under the mind set that she’s better off without him.

May 4, 2009

Update 2

I cannot believe its been almost three weeks since I’ve updated this story.  I think that I might have really started to write this story too fast though, because I’ve completely lost enthusiasm for it.  Some of that might have to do with a really bad review I received about the Cursed Tattoo, more of it might also have to do with the fact that I spent more than half of this month at work in one stretch and I was just tired.  I don’t know.  Whatever the case it took me longer to edit and post this chapter than it did to write it and type it.  Go figure.

This, I think, will be one of those chapters that people are either going to love or they’re going to hate it.  For me, I loved writing the first part of the chapter – the part, essentially, that I wrote when I should have been working on Cursed Tattoo.  But I think that people are either going to sympathize with Ginny (which I hope they do) or they’re going to think she’s just a spoiled brat.  Whatever the case I hope the emotions are strong but I doubt they will be.

Whereas the first chapter was dark but fun to write, this one was hard to write because it really is a reality check for Ginny, and Harry for that matter.  They have both gone on their own ways for two weeks and now they’re coming back together so Ginny can finally let Harry in on her secret.  He doesn’t take it well.  My advice to him would be to think before he speaks.

February 24, 2009

Update 1

I cannot believe its been almost three weeks since I’ve updated this story.  I think that I might have really started to write this story too fast though, because I’ve completely lost enthusiasm for it.  Some of that might have to do with a really bad review I received about the Cursed Tattoo, more of it might also have to do with the fact that I spent more than half of this month at work in one stretch and I was just tired.  I don’t know.  Whatever the case it took me longer to edit and post this chapter than it did to write it and type it.  Go figure.

This, I think, will be one of those chapters that people are either going to love or they’re going to hate it.  For me, I loved writing the first part of the chapter – the part, essentially, that I wrote when I should have been working on Cursed Tattoo.  But I think that people are either going to sympathize with Ginny (which I hope they do) or they’re going to think she’s just a spoiled brat.  Whatever the case I hope the emotions are strong but I doubt they will be.

Whereas the first chapter was dark but fun to write, this one was hard to write because it really is a reality check for Ginny, and Harry for that matter.  They have both gone on their own ways for two weeks and now they’re coming back together so Ginny can finally let Harry in on her secret.  He doesn’t take it well.  My advice to him would be to think before he speaks.

February 4, 2009

The Woes of Ginny Weasley

Wow, what a concept.  Actually having the first updates match the chapter number.  It’s completely unheard of!

So I’m back, much sooner than I thought, to be honest.  I’ve finished writing the first chapter of Woes of Ginny Weasley.  The finny thing is, her name’s in the title of the story but Ginny doesn’t appear in this chapter at all, other than a few references.  This chapter was really a recap chapter though, and it sets up the idea that Bellatrix is completely crazy – like we needed to be reminded of that, and the PPA, which becomes important later.

A small note about the PPA, who do become rather important.  When I finished writing The Cursed Tattoo, I had basically the Harry/Ginny storyline worked out for this one but I knew that I didn’t want to write just about that so I decided to have sort of the inverse reaction as in Deathly Hallows.  Well, I suppose it’s not.  I guess in Deathly Hallows the purebloods were taking over and the Muggle-borns were in trouble.  I don’t think that the Muggle-borns will be in as much danger – but protestors can create havoc.

I took the name Perfidious from a hostile name used for Britain: Perfidious Albion.  I’m rather proud of that name but have to wonder why a parent would ever name their child Perfidious.  Poor thing.  Since we’re talking about names.  The spell that Bellatrix uses at the end of the chapter Einsturz is a German word meaning collapse.  I think that its perfect.  German tends to be a much harsher language than any of the latin based languages; the somewhat guttural pronunciation would be closer to her intent.

I don’t want to say too much because this is the first chapter and I don’t want to give too much away, but let me just say this: Bellatrix is cruel, mean and evil – and not in a good way.  🙂

Leave a Reply

