Rap In Popular Music

From Tuesday, September 25, 2007

 

Anyone who knows me, knows that I love music, doesn’t really matter the genre. I even do like rap, though I will also be the first to admit that it certainly is not my favorite genre. There are certain songs or artists that annoy the hell out of me. COUGH – Fantasia – COUGH – but of course not everyone is going to like every single artist out there, so I don’t really have an issue with those acts that I don’t like.

What I do have an issue with is the pervasion of rap music into popular music. I am sorry but not EVERY FRICKING SONG needs to have rap on it!!!!!!

I know what you are going to say – not every song has a rapper on it. I know this is the case, but every damn R&B album seems to have half their bloody songs filled with rappers.

Take Mariah Carey. I know a lot of people don’t like her music, and that’s certainly their choice. But if we go back to an album like Daydream, there was no rap on that album and it was probably her best album to date. There was rap on the remix for some of the songs -and that’s fine. But seriously every fricking album she’s put out since that one have had rappers on every bloody song. It’s like she’s forgot she’s got talent of her own right. And in this case i have to admit that I contribute to the problem because I still buy the albums.

Maybe that’s why I liked the last few Babyface albums! There was no rap on them. It was like a breath of fresh air when you’ve been stuck in a musty smelling room all day.

I think honestly what they need to do is create two new musical genres – pop music with rap and pop music without – although I think the latter probably wouldn’t have great sales numbers because every, all right almost every, successful artist needs to resort to cheap rap.

One last thing. I am really generalizing here. I have this one Montell Jordan album in which he makes this very point – why do executives think R&B needs to have a rapper on every album to get it to sell?

Thus I give kudos to those that are bucking the norm – like Babyface – and relying on actual talent to sell their albums and not the OK but overused and saturated rap genre. This is why I don’t listen to the radio anymore – or if I do it’s classic rock!

Cheers,
Sabrina
12:54

Leave a Reply

