Talent Vs. Success – It Doesn’t Matter For Babyface

February 16, 2009

 

It is unfortunate that these days we have to draw a line between talent and success.  Going back a few weeks I think that Stephen King said it best when comparing Stephenie Meyer and J.K. Rowling.  I’ve talked about that a lot though so I’m not going to mention it again.  Rather this time I want to touch on the music industry.  Look at someone like Britney Spears.  She’s horribly successful but ridiculously untalented.  Simon Cowell would love her.  Oh, that was low, I know, but I don’t get how he sees talent or potential success in some people that obviously underperform as compared to others on American Idol.  But we’re not here to talk about that stupid show.

How does this all relate to Babyface?   It’s kind of convoluted but I’ll give it a shot.

It all started when I bought my Iphone.  Since one of my computers is now in the living room it was not always going to be the easiest to update my phone and thus I decided to also move my Itunes library bac to my mac.  When I did this my playlists didn’t move over.  Now I’m on vacation I decided that I wanted to move them over and I did this.  I had a bunch of playlists with Babyface music on them and this got me to wondering if he had any new music out.

He did.  A new song called I Need A Love Song.  I’m listening to it as I type this post.

  1. Love.  It.  Already I can see that I’m going to have it stuck in my head for days.

One of the other things that I love about this song is that it is just straight up R&B – no rap.   LIke I’ve said elsewhere, one of the things that I hate about the new Mariah Carey music is the fact she needs to have a rapper on every album.  Its nice to see that some Soul/R&B can exist without Jay-Z.  I really wonder if Mariah’s insecurity leads her to stick very closely with what the type of music that is popular at the present time.  She’s ridiculously successful and talented but I think that she’s got too far away from great albums like Daydream which, coincidentally had a song co-written with Babyface.  My favorite songwriter though, has largely stayed away from the rap genre on his albums which makes me love them, and him, so much more.  It really is a breath of fresh air.

I think it is a huge shame that Babyface’s own music isn’t as prevalent in top 40 radio, but it goes to show that taste, talent and success aren’t strongly correlated.  Pity!

In any case you should all go and buy I Need A Love Song at iTunes.

Leave a Reply

