The Three Faces Of Love

February 1, 2008

Update 8

It’s been a while since I’ve updated I guess.  I haven’t forgot this story.  In fact, just recently, influenced by my lovable serial killer Dexter, I have come up with a few new ideas for this story.  Right now I am just thinking through whose perspective would work best, and what exactly I want to leave in the story.  As I will be going back to school soon though, and I have a Harry Potter fan fiction in progress right now, I’m guessing it will be another five years before I have anything even remotely resembling a first draft.

 

October 30, 2007

Update 7

After having read the first chapter I think it seems a little too chaotic. I don’t focus on just one persons point of view, nor do I present things in a logical or streamlined order. Therefore, while I have finished writing a first draft, I am sure there will be at the very least one more.

 

October 17, 2007

Update 6

I haven’t even started writing this story yet, just plotting it right now. However, I’ve been informally plotting for five or six years now, so it’s not as much in the beginning stages as it might have been. However, so much is still up for grabs that even the title may change, in fact I think it will because I don’t particularly like it.

 

October 16, 2007

Update 5

The first chapter is finished. It is quite true that I have not reread it at all. However, you have no idea the number of times that I rewrote that very first paragraph, or the first five pages for that matter. Now my problem is how to start chapter two. I have been trying to start it, but found that I was trying to start it the same way that I started chapter one initially. Unfortunately that did not work for chapter one, so I doubt it will work for chapter two. We shall see though, at least it’s a start.

 

October 3, 2007

Update 4

I don’t know what it is about getting started that’s so hard. I am referring to starting to write a story that is. Actually scratch that. Starting to write anything always seems to be the hardest. I think that it has something to do with the word “start” or more precisely the action.

Just think if it. If you have a minimal amount of gas your car may not start, but if you get it running it can go for a while on the same minuscule amount of fuel. Why is that? Because you need an infusion of fuel to start the engine but not so much to keep the car going (at least I think, don’t quote me on that please).

So that is my dilemma now. I have finished making the outline for The Three Faces Of Love however can’t seem to find the way to start the story. Or at leas I know in general what I want to happen, however the issue is in the details. How much to include up front. I don’t want to be too short and stingy with details, but I also don’t want to go on a tangent about how the wind was blowing out of the south-south-east at 45.6 kilometres per hour, blowing half of their hair to one side and the other half a different way. That delicate balance is important.

It doesn’t matter how many times I write that first line, I have a feeling that once I finish writing this story – which I will do by the way – the first line is going to be very different from what it starts out as today.

 

October 3, 2007

Update 3

I have FINALLY finished doing the outline for this story. I have been plotting this thing inside my head for half a decade now, if not more, so I’m absolutely shocked that it took me that long to type it out, and I also had a synopsis type plot already typed. Ah well, it’s done now and the actual writing can get started. Right now it’s looking like my story will be about forty-three chapters long. A daunting number for me. The Harry Potter Fan Fiction that I wrote had an outline that comprised twenty-three chapters I think, yet when I was finished the story was twenty-seven. If this pattern carries forward to this story I’ll have somewhere in the order of fifty chapters.
It took me seven months to write that Harry Potter fan fiction, and that was based on another story, so all the hard work like character development was mostly done. I have a feeling this story is going to take longer than that. However I want to finish it. I had such a sense of pride and accomplishment when I finished the HP story, especially due to my track record of not finishing anything. As it stands right now I don’t think this story will be a masterpiece either, however it will be FAN-frickin’-TASTIC to complete it.

 

October 2, 2007

Update 2:

Yes. I am definitely not going to have the first chapter finished by the end of September. I haven’t even finished the bloody outline yet. However I am proud to report that it is very nearly complete. I still think that this story is not going to be anywhere near Pulitzer material, never mind simple publishing. However I think that I am going to have fun writing it. Therefore, I will stop blogging and get back to real writing, or at least the nearest thing I do to it.

 

September 26, 2007

Update 1

I am about half done my detailed outline. I don’t think, based on what I’ve got done so far, that I will have the first chapter completed before the end of the month. Oh well, it’s all good.

 

September 21, 2007

The Three Faces Of Love: An Original Novel

Wow, that word progress isn’t just hyperbole anymore. I’ve been saying that this story is in progress for five years now. Particularly in the last six or seven weeks I’ve been tentatively working on it. However, for some odd reason, nothing much seemed to be getting done. Well, I am proud to say that I’ve started creating the chapter outline. So, within the next week I might actually start writing the story. OK, I do have to admit that starting to write the story doesn’t really mean a whole hell of a lot either. I’ve started to write this story several times before. However, I am still feeling pumped at completing that Harry Potter Fan Fiction, so maybe the momentum will continue. Let’s keep our fingers crossed, shall we?

 

Leave a Reply

