The Heady Feeling Of The Blank Page

There is nothing like the feeling of writing the first few words in a new notebook, or the first few sentences in a blank word document.  I have never been one of those people that feels intimidated by the emptiness (the intimidation comes somewhere in the middle of the story when I’ve written myself into a corner).  I am not quite at the point where I can begin a new story, but that prospect is near and I think that is what has me so excited. 

 

I have been working on The Woes of Ginny Weasley for so long (5 years this coming February).  If I had been consistently writing in a notebook the pages would be dog-eared and indecipherable by now.  As it is, every time I open that pages document it is like looking at a broken down clunker.  It is a laborious task to enter the world and write the story I wanted to.  I’ve made it too dark even for myself.  But a light is at the end of the tunnel.  A nice bright, crisp light: a blank page. 

 

Here’s to 2014 and the promise of a million new, much happier, words. 

 

Leave a Reply

