Firestarter feels like a very dated book, perhaps because of the fact that it deals with government sanctioned experiments that went on during the 1960s and the 1970s.  it reminds me that King, at least in the early years, wrote a lot about mental powers: Carrie, The Shining, The Dead Zone, and several short stories in Night Shift.

Thus far into my Stephen King Odyssey, I have to say that Firestarter has been my least favorite book.  There’s nothing that screams out of it being a bad story.  It is interesting that a little girl can light fires with nothing more than the force of her mind, but I think its is because of that very fact that it feels too much like Carrie.  And the whole Big Brother aspect of the government seems overblown.

Having said that, I think that the very things that I didn’t like about the story step from the fact that it is dated.  More than thirty years have passed since this book was written, and I myself have read and seen too many government conspiracy stories to find interest in another.  That said, I do like Rainbird’s character, his coolness and complete manipulation.  And Andy is a great dad.  So why did he have to die.

Oh and going to Rolling Stone?  That was perfect.

3 thoughts on “Firestarter – Stephen King

  1. Believe it or not, I love this book; read it twice (so far?) over the years. I did, however, feel the sequence after the little girl gets captured and taken to the compound, when that Rainbird dude makes friends with her in order to manipulate, was FAR too long and sluggish, & should’ve been edited down by about 30-40%. Other than that, the story’s fantastic, the father-daughter relationship is beautifully rendered, & her vengeance is awesomely righteous and badass 🙂 Off the top of my head, I’d say it’s gotta be among my top-10 or 12 favorite King books. But different strokes n all that!

    ~Love + Liberation~
    Jan

    1. The father-daughter dynamic was the best part, you are right about that. I think you’re also right about the length of the imprisonment. Then again, I think that I just may have been exposed to too many conspiracies and that’s what spoiled this book for me.

Leave a Reply

