The 2015 (and 2016 AND 2017 – WILL THIS THING EVER END?) Stephen King Reading Odyssey

2015.  The year that I try to outpace Stephen King’s publication schedule and catch up with his three hundred thousand or so novel,s short stories, and other published works.  As I understand it, there are only two new works scheduled for this year (only two?  My last story took me four years to write, and that was just a measly fan fiction).  Thus far, I have kept pace.  Carrie and Salem’s Lot have been read cover to cover.  Yes, I am reading chronologically. Though not strictly necessary to read his books chronologically (the Dark Tower series aside), as an aspiring writer myself, I find such an exercise helpful.  Forty years after Carrie, it will be interesting to read a novel like Revival or 11/22/63 (both of which I am looking forward to immensely) and see how his writing has matured.  Reading the introduction to the Shining as I have just done, even Mr. King says that some of the writing grates on him.  Will it do so for me?  Doubtful, but we shall see.  And you, dear reader, may see also, as it is part of my plan for the year to blog about said readings.  I cannot promise any timely updates, or more than moderately coherent commentary on said books, but I shall do my best.  It is not my aim to review these works in any conventional sense, either, so a synopsis may not be forthcoming.  What each blog post will likely be is a rather shoddy paste job of notes that I’ve written down as I read each work. I shall create a blog post for each ‘commentary, and link to it below.

  1.  Carrie
  2. Salem’s Lot
  3. The Shining
  4. Rage
  5. The Stand
  6. Night Shift
  7. The Long Walk
  8. The Dead Zone
  9. Firestarter
  10. Roadwork
  11. Cujo
  12. Danse Macabre
  13. The Running Man
  14. The Gunslinger
  15. Different Seasons
  16. Creepshow
  17. Christine
  18. Pet Sematary
  19. Cycle of the Werewolf
  20. The Talisman
  21. Thinner
  22. Skeleton Crew
  23. It
  24. The Eyes of the Dragon
  25. The Drawing of the Three
  26. Misery
  27. The Tommyknockers
  28. The Dark Half
  29. Four Past Midnight
  30. The Waste Lands
  31. Needful Things
  32. Gerald’s Game
  33. Delores Claiborne
  34. Nightmares & Dreamscapes
  35. Insomnia
  36. Rose Madder
  37. The Green Mile
  38. Desperation
  39. The Regulators
  40. Wizard & Glass
  41. Bag of Bones
  42. The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
  43. Hearts in Atlantis
  44. Riding the Bullet
  45. On Writing
  46. Secret Windows
  47. Dreamcatcher
  48. Black House
  49. From a Buick 8
  50. Everything’s Eventual
  51. Wolves of the Calla
  52. Song of Susannah
  53. The Dark Tower
  54. The Colorado Kid
  55. The Cell
  56. Lisey’s Story
  57. Blaze
  58. Duma Key
  59. Just After Sunset
  60. Under The Dome
  61. UR
  62. Throttle
  63. Stephen King Goes To The Movies
  64. Full Dark, No Stars
  65. Blockade Billy
  66. American Vampire
  67. 11/22/63
  68. Mile 81
  69. The Wind Through The Keyhole
  70. A Face In The Crowd
  71. In The Tall Grass
  72. Joyland
  73. Doctor Sleep
  74. Guns
  75. Mr Mercedes
  76. Revival
  77. Finders Keepers
  78. The Bazaar of Bad Dreams
  79. End of Watch
  80. Hearts in Suspension
  81. Charlie the Choo Choo
5 thoughts on “The 2015 (and 2016 AND 2017 – WILL THIS THING EVER END?) Stephen King Reading Odyssey

Leave a Reply

